Dutch Gemini's Weblog Pages

May 21, 2008

Sonic MyDVD Kicked Off

Filed under: Uncategorized — dutchgemini @ 8:14 am
Tags: , ,

Yesterday I took the decision to kick the entire suit of Sonic’s MyDVD off my home laptop, a HP/Compaq Business nx7300 running XP Home (last weekend it was upgraded to SP3). The software came pre-installed when I purchased it a year ago.

Many times already, after closing the software, I got errors. Usually the next 3:

  1. Mediahub.exe – Application Error
    The instruction at “0x0076215f” referenced at “0x1e2cfbab”. The memory could not be “written”.
    Click on OK to terminate the program
  2. Mediahub.exe – Application Error
    The instruction at “0x00000000” referenced at “0x00000000”. The memory could not be “written”.
    Click on OK to terminate the program
  3. Microsoft Visual C++ Runtime Library
    Runtime Error!
    Program: …ommon Files\Sonic Shared\Sonic Central\Main\Mediahub.exe
    R6025
    -pure virtual function call

Since the CD contained what I wanted, I always disregarded the problem. I had installed several patches found on the Internet, including the one from HP that claimed to solve it for good but without success. I had started accepting that I could (or had to?) live with this buggy piece of software.

Until yesterday.

I needed to give a photo shop a CD with a PDF that contained 2 scanned images in it (a miserable 32Mb). So I put a blank CD in my drive (a HL-DT-ST-DVD-RAM GSA-T10N) using the same brand I used in the past and started the Digital Media Plus v7.1.2 program. There, I selected to create a data disk. I decided to go for DLA, formatted the CD and dropped the PDF into the application.
It crashed. I restarted and since I did not see the file, I dropped it again and went for closing the CD going for a Disk-At-Once.

After having progessed for some 30%, Windows dropped with a blue STOP screen. I have seen many BSOD (Blue Screen Of Death) at work, but this was the first time ever I saw a STOP screen. It clearly was the CD software. It was enough!

After a reboot, Windows sent an error report and I could finally proceed to something I should have done long ago: removing Sonic’s software from my laptop!

Now I am a happy user of CDBurnerXP, a free CD/DVD burning software.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

